Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Hawk Assembly News

Balkuin 2016 Leaders accept the Every Day Counts trophy
​Balkuin 2016 Leaders accept the Every Day Counts trophy

National Anthem: Ensemble with singers Caspian and Chloe

Acknowledgment of Country: Zac Docherty

Leaders: Alex Hohn and Chloe Ledger 

Regional Council ‘Pitch Your Future’ Awards

Ms Ryman spoke about the Toowoomba Regional Council ‘Pitch Your Future’ Awards. This semester the Year 9s spent time in Geography imagining a better city or world-class facilities, visiting facilities and planning as part of their studies. The thirteen students who demonstrated the best ideas, nominated by their Geography Teachers, attended the Imagine Tomorrow Youth Conference. In a multi-school competition, four students were awarded prizes for their innovative ideas; all prize winners came from Harristown.
Mayor Antonio praised the students’ contributions and is retaining them for future planning. He spoke about the future, reminding the Assembly: ‘A society grows great when old men plant trees whose shade they’ll never sit under.’ He awarded the students with their prizes:
  • Highly Commended: Jasmine Gray
  • 3rd: Jasmine Weaver
  • 2nd: Kira Thompson
  • 1st: Arliegha Thomas
Congratulations to all students.      

Principal’s address

Mr Green welcomed the 2016 Gold Leaders to the stage for the first time and spoke about the P&C, Silver Leaders and announced the winners of the Every Day Counts Attendance trophy and Excellent Student Draw.


Mr John Gietzel, President of the P&C Association, recognised the efforts of the P&C staff and volunteers. In 1995 the P&C decided to employ Tracey Waters as the Canteen Convener who was then acknowledged for her 20 years of service. Thanks Tracey for all your work.

Silver Leaders

  • Barang
    • Nathan Gunst, Brooke Haddock
    • Adam Holland, Emily Gollan
  • Balkuin
    • Denzel Burns, Natalie Allison
    •  Liam Dodman, Najwa Aliakbari
  •  Bonda
    •  Mason Pike, Savanah Orcher
    •  Jaqui Palfi Callum Morrin
  •  Dherwain
    •  Caitlin Schaumann, Chris Tate
    •  Torrie Thies, Andre Williams

Interhouse 'Every Day Counts' Attendance Trophy

Congratulations to Balkuin, whose lead is such that they are the Term 4 and Overall winners of the Attendance Trophy. The Balkuin Silver Leaders accepted the trophy and Denzel thanked Balkuin students for turning up to school and for going into 2016 with a win.

Demonstrating Excellence Student Draw

Mr McVeigh gifted an iPad mini to be presented to the student of Mr Green’s choice. Mr Green made it the prize for the student exceeding attendance targets and demonstrating very good or excellent behaviour and effort. The winner is Year 11 Bonda Student with 15 Excellent ratings and attendance of 95.27: Carley McColl. Congratulations Carley.

Carols by Candlelight

Arts Prefects Rebecca and Will invited students to attend Carols by Candlelight.  Doors opened at 6pm with the carols starting at 6.30pm. Bring friends family blanket and pillow. Entry is $2, canteen and lights for sale with proceeds donated to charity.


Ms Parker farewelled Kensuke Takigawa our international student from Japan who finishes his year with us. Thank you, Kensuke for choosing to spend your year aboard with us at Harristown High.