Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Hawk Assembly News

hawk news
National Anthem: The Ensemble
Assembly Leaders: Junior Secondary Leaders, Baden and Caleb
Acknowledgment of Country: Chloe Gray

Principal’s Address

Mr Green’s weekly address covered the following topics:
  • Well done to the brave Year 11 students who are vying for Silver Leader positions, especially those who were part of the Gold Leader application process. Students were encouraged to listen and commend these students in House Meetings.
  • One day of attendance will make a difference. Mr Green shared the percentages for the different Houses with Balkuin still in the lead, but the other houses are trailing by fractions of a percent.
  • Honour our family and the loss of a family member. Assembly stood and shared 1 minute of silence in honour of Mrs Judy Walker who was part of our fabulous cleaning team and who had relatives both on staff and amongst our students.

Hawks Catering Crew

Ms Paul & Ms Runham invited Year 10 to 12 students to become part of the 2019 ‘Hawks Catering Crew’ to cater for events including sports carnivals and Presentation Night. Students need to be interested and have a passion in the food industry and do not need to be completing hospitality classes. Application forms are available from P Block.

The Smith Family ‘Student 2 Student’ Reading Program

Assembly welcomed Ms Judy Barkla who spoke about The Smith Family reading buddy program and acknowledged the work of the following student volunteers:
  • Kimberly Astbury
  • Isaac Baker
  • Jaimey Bauer
  • Emma Beare
  • Isacc Budde
  • Michelle Buuts
  • Erin Emes
  • Olivia Grutt
  • Georgia Hauser
  • Issra Maryol
  • Alex Rohde
  • Jeanne Shukurani

Impact 2018

Mr Holcombe acknowledged participation of students in the Critical Thinking program with the Impact Centre in Brisbane. These online programs provide students with an opportunity to develop arguments and ideas, build on vocabulary, explore attitudes towards ethical questions, use web-conferencing tools and collaborate online. Year 8 and 9 students who have completed the program include:
Year 9
  • Zoe Thomson
  • Teyanah Colley
  • Sam *surname withheld
  • Logan Busiko
  • Kimberly Astbury
  • Emma Beare
  • Georgia Hauser
  • Jeanne Shukurani
  • Joey Jones
  • Janwelle Alponte
  • Claire Gainsford
  • Alyssa Collins
  • Abi Davidson


Year 8

  • Ambah More
  • Anisa Anderson
  • Georgia Deeth
  • Maddex Acton
  • Madison Brown
  • Rachael Burns
  • Taylah Alchin

The Sports’ Academy

Mr Martin encouraged students to finalise applications for The Sports’ Academy. Many students have nominated but need to return application forms with parent signature. If students have nominated for multiple academies, they were asked to ensure Mr Martin knows your preferences.