Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Hawk Assembly News

science award winners
National Anthem: Ensemble
Assembly Leaders: School Vice-Captains, Caleb and Maddy
Acknowledgement of Country: Angel Bates

Science Competition

Chloe Koch spoke about the 169 students  who competed in the International Competitions and Assessments for Schools (ICAS) in Science, which is conducted by the University of New South Wales. This competition is usually referred to as the National Science Quiz.
Our largest group of participants were the Year 7’s with 96 students completing the competition. As the timing of the quiz was just before the exam block for senior students, only 10 students from years 11 and 12 undertook the quiz.
The purpose of the quiz is to allow students to see how their science skills are developing. Each student receives detailed feedback about their progress on a variety of science skills. In addition, there is the opportunity for students who perform particularly well to receive awards.
All students are to be congratulated for their willingness to participate in this valuable activity, whether they received an award or not. Merit recepients were acknowledged on the Assembly screen, found under Related Links. Credit Awards were presented to the following students:
Year 7
Alex Anderson
Chervourne Adnams
Emily Berghofer
Tylah Bill
Billy Bowen
Madison Brown
Logan Coonan
Ellara Duck
Braiden Gunst
Danielle Holley
Brooke Ireland
Alyssa McLeod
Erin Ryan
Year 8
Georgia Anderson
Cienna Beveridge
Kylan Dunemann
Gema Forsdike
Georgia Hauser
Nick Lavers
Anthony Otto
Logan Plant
Caleb Thompson
Bethany Tuffley
​Year 9
Georgia Collins
Kade Fisher
Danielle Taylor
Bec Taylor
Zackary Tozer
​Year 10
Nikita Barnes
Adrian Bennett
Thomas Clerte
Jordan Parkinson
Lili (surname withheld)
Year 11
Tiana Wegener
Year 12  
Joshua Wardill 
Year 8 Student William Cooke received a Distinction award, placing him in the top 11% in Australia.

Musical Wrap-up

Musical Captains Hannah and Abi presented  to assembly: This year, Harristown’s

musical went back in time with “Popstars! The 90’s Musical”.  It was a battle of Boyband versus Girlband to try and win the state talent show.  We began rehearsals for the production in March, spending at least three hours a week learning lines, blocking movement, learning dances, creating videos and rehearsing the vocal and instrumental parts of the production. 
There were three public performances of “Popstars: The 90’s musical” on Friday 18th and Saturday 19th August at the Heritage Bank Auditorium in the Empire Theatre complex.  We also did a free
performance for students from Darling Heights, Drayton and Bunker’s Hill primary schools.  We had lots of great feedback about the show from the audience who said they loved the jokes and the 90s soundtrack and costumes. 
Before introducing the cast and crew to you, we would like to thank the staff members who made this amazing production possible.  The co-directors of “Popstars” were Mrs Krause and Mr

Macdonald who also was our amazing music director.  The producer was Ms Mullins who also choreographed the show along with Mrs Hamilton and Mrs Krause. The Front of House Stage Manager was Mr Reuther and the Backstage Manager was Mr Clarry. The Vocal coaches for “Popstars” were one of our instrumental music teachers, Mr Robinson, and Ms Matheson. Our Media Producer was Mr Kao. We always have great costumes which is
thanks to Ms Monagle, Mrs Clarry and Mrs Livingstone. Mr Verdon did the fabulous artwork.

This year we had six guest musicians who we couldn’t have done the show without. 
Ms Matheson and Ms Beare both played keyboard.
Four past students generously gave up many hours of their own time to play in the band.  Theresa Barnes - saxophone, Sarah Lindsay - flute, Campbell Patterson - electric and acoustic guitar and, at the last minute for the matinee show, Sharee Muller on bass guitar.
​The 2017 Arts Production captains were:
Hannah Budde and Abi Haydon
The Tech Crew were:
Kieren Auchterlonie
Christopher McDonough
The Media Crew was:
Victoria Ready
​The Band were:
Jake  Buckland
Sebastian  Czaran
Llewellyn Fletcher
Malachi Hallas
Billy  Murray
Zoe  Thomson
​The backstage crew were:
Griffin Barlow
Nikita Barnes
Maddy Bonell
Britney Cawkwell
Sophie Delmodes
Tahneshia Dunstall
Amy Jensen
Jessica Kuhne
Kieron Lindsay
Toby McDonough
Zackary Tozer
Keshia Williams 
​The singing and acting characters were:
Shanyn Ambrose
Jorjah Beutel
Billy Bowen
Kimberley Broadhead
Danielle Brotherton
Hannah Budde
Isaac Budde
Alara Cannon
Xander Clifford-Pugh
Maddy Cybulski
Ella Dwyer
Jacinta Gilson
Abi Haydon
Emery Kavuala
Nalani Kiakpe
Jacinta Langston
Ryan Mccoll
Musa Rezaie
Jeanne Shukarani
Carlie Smith
Mackenzie Stuart
Erin Symes
Danielle Taylor
Marina Teske-Finlay
Kira Thompson
Emma Town
Jasmine Weaver
​The dance ensemble were:
Jorjina-Rose Andreadis
Matia Bayntun
Katherine Bonell
Hannah Cauley
Ashley Churchward
Georgia Collins
Maddy  Cybulski
Jasmin Edwards
Olivia Gainsford
Brooke Hart
Emery  Kavuala
Tiarne Lawson
Molly Ledger
Tamaya Maher
Savannah Moon
Cody Mutch
Caleb O'Reilly
Mikaela Ribot de Bresac
Claire Russo
Rebekalea Setch
Naomi Stephens
Sherryn Winning
​The Singing Ensemble were:
Rahila  Abdul Hadi
Alyssa Badinas
Jaimey Bauer
Emma Beare
Olivia Bennett
Cienna Beveridge
Renz Buenceslao
Shyla Cooper
Abi Davidson
Hayley Denman
Yasmyn Hall
Brooke Ireland
Ana Malferrari
Pearl Nilsson
Naheeda Nouroz Ali
Dina Pujalos
Bec Taylor
Chloe Walmsley
Bonnie Wilson
As captains, we had a great time being part of this production and, as this was our last Harristown musical, we have some fantastic memories to take with us.  Make sure you get involved with next year’s arts production!  Good times and great memories.