Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Hawk Assembly News

Science week
​Assembly enjoyed a video reflection of Science Week activities.
National Anthem: The Ensemble
Assembly leaders: School Captains, Chloe and Alex
Acknowledgment of Country: Abigail Budden

Principal's Address

Mr Green spoke on the following topics:
  • Congratulations to Balkuin as best attending house for Term 3, Bonda for being most improved
  • Reflection on the vulnerability of the homeless in society and students' participation in a sleep-out to raise awareness of the growing numbers of homeless
  • Students are encouraged to work hard, be generous, help those less fortunate, take care of yourself and others and respect your home, school and teachers.

Rail Safety

David Millward QLD Rail Education Officer appealed to students sense of worth and community spirit. He encouraged Assembly to be aware, stop, think and take a few seconds to consider your actions, especially around train tracks.
Assembly watched a short video regarding the consequences of not being rail safe. Thanks Mr Millward for your time. 

Interhouse Athletics Presentation

Danielle extended congratulations to all competitors in the Interhouse Athletics.
Age Champions were acknowledged and presented with trophies on stage. Recipients have been published separately:
Dherwain won the girls division with 907 points. In 2nd place were Barang with 697 points, 3rd place Bonda 664 points and 4th place Balkuin with 649 points.
In the Boys, Barang house was on top with 825 points, 2nd place Balkuin with 838 points, 3rd place Bonda on 698 points, and 4th place Dherwain house with 550 points.
The Max Land Cup for OVERALL HOUSE CHAMPION goes to Barang with 1522 points, 2nd place Balkuin with 1487, in 3rd place Dherwain house with 1457
and 4th place to Bonda with 1362 points. Balkuin house is the winner of the Quinton Relay trophy. The Interact Club Participation Trophy goes to Barang house and Interact House Spirit award was won by Bonda House.  Dherwain house won the March Past.

Barang House Captain Nathan thanked all participants and staff on behalf of Barang House. Congratulations to all of the students who participated over the two days.  Thank you to all staff and students who helped to make the day run smoothly. 

Science Competition results

Abigail spoke about the National Science Quiz held during the June exam block.
The purpose of the quiz is to allow students to see how their science skills are developing. Each student receives detailed feedback about their progress on a variety of science skills. Also, there is the opportunity for students who perform particularly well to receive awards.
All students are to be congratulated for their willingness to participate in this valuable activity, whether they received an award or not.
Our whole-school results are compared with results from students from other schools across all of Australia, not just Queensland. The average results for our Year 9 and 10 students were within 2% of the national average and the average for the Year 11 was 1% above the Australian average.
Two students achieved a Distinction, 28 obtained a Credit and 21 were awarded with Merit certificates. Both of these groups had 6 more students than last year. Those students receiving Distinction and Credit awards will be presented today.
The following students received 'Credit' awards
  • Year 12: Tom Lister, Kimberley Ward
  • Year 11: Adam Ryan, Michael Whant
  • Year 10: Adahlia Daly, Jack Halpin, Harry Potter
  • Year 9: Nikita Barnes, Ephrain Thayer, Thomas Clerte, Amy Jensen, Nikki Smith
  • Year 8: Milrus Caguimbal, Georgia Collins, Kade Fisher, Alexandra Gibb, Rebecca Sherrie
  • Year 7: Cienna Beveridge, William Cooke, Levi Cuskelly, Kylan Dunemann, Navren Fuller, Fadi Gorges, Mariam Gorges, Anthony Otto, Logan Plant, Jamie Radke, Kaylee Richters- Popp, Caleb Thompson, Zoe Thompson
The following students received 'Distinction' awards. This means that they were placed in the top 11% or better in Australia:
*name withheld from Year 7 and Abigail Haydon from Year 11
Congratulations to all students.