Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Hawk Assembly News

Year 12 Mentors
​Year 12 Mentors

Assembly Leaders: School Vice-Captains, Brittania and Scott

Acknowledgement of Country: Savanah Orcher

Principal's Address:

Mr Green began his address 'Remove the Obstacles' by demonstrating his method to vacuum his house, and the ways to move obstacles when he is vacuuming. Drawing the comparison with students working, he declared, " the vacuuming task is achieved better by removing obstacles."  He gave examples of the obstacles students need to overcome as they work to achieve at school:

  • lack of sleep
  • lack of a home study space
  • not being on time
  • not having the right equipment
  • not paying attention

"You have the choice: to systematically remove the obstacles one by one," he said. He encouraged students to take a moment to step back and remove the obstacles to work before starting work.

Senior Mentors

Ms Parker acknowledged the Year 12 Mentors who were nominated to work with selected Year 7 students. These students  spent time in the holidays, before school and during breaks working with selected Year 7 students to help make the transition to high school smoother. Congratulations to

  • Savannah Orcher
  • April Fletcher
  • Skye Baker
  • Adam Holland
  • Xaos Freeleagus
  • Jake Lamont
  • Isaac Gosling
  • Connor Alexander
  • name withheld
  • Callum McFeeters
  • Will Johnston
  • Andre Williams
  • Chris Tate
  • Colum Isaccs
  • Zane Watson
  • Mason Pike

National Schools Volleyball Championships

Scott Schultz and Saxon Clews presented the results for the Australian Volleyball Championships, the largest school sporting event in the Southern Hemisphere. Seven teams travelled to Melbourne to compete in the final week of school last year. Harristown teams once again had great results, with 2 medals and the Open Boys Honours team taking multiple wins to secure a Top 10 finish in the country.

U15 Girls claimed the Bronze Medal, coached by Mr Parsons.

  • Lucy Leadbetter
  • Ashley Waugh
  • Maddi Burns
  • Zoe Glasby
  • Sophie Thornton
  • Tahlia Edards
  • Adeng Santino
  • Angelica Gosling

U15 Boys Division 1 team also claimed Bronze, coached by Mr Krisanski.

  • Jake Jarick
  • Gai Gai
  • Jack Innes
  • Zach Manly
  • Bevan Fry
  • Russell Chambers
  • Trent Knight
  • Callum Wise

Assembly enjoyed a brief visual presentation of the competition. Congratulations to all players and coaches, other staff, parents and once again to Mrs Hollman for all her hard work throughout the year.

School Photos on Thursday. Please wear formal uniform and bring your photo envelope on the day.