Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Assembly Notes


As we wrap up our Year of Engagement, students were thanked this morning during Form Class for their support of the Free Dress Day and Vinnie's Hamper appeal.  Mr Rogers wrote, "It was really inspiring to see the generosity on display in the number of donations arriving to E1 yesterday morning - all up there was about two ute loads of donations. In addition to these items, we collected $586.05. This money will be used to purchase additional items for the appeal in the coming days. Thank you for your generosity!"

Assembly opened with a welcome to the 2014 Gold Leaders who joined the leadership team on stage for the first time. The National Anthem was sung, accompanied by the Ensemble and Rianna Jenkinson. The Assembly leaders were
Emity Bayntun and Lachlan Porter, as incoming School Captains.
Mr Green, in his Leader's address, discussed the changes that will occur next year in preparation for Year 7s entering high school in 2015. Junior Secondary will now be students in Years 7, 8 and 9 and Senior Secondary will be students in Years 10, 11 and 12.  Current Year 9s will be welcomed to Senior Secondary as of next year. Along with these changes come key changes to staff structure. Mr Green explained the current system of staff acting in different roles, such as subject teachers, Form teacher, Student Manager, HPYC and House Deputy.
From next year, each of the four House Deputy Principals will have two people assisting them, a Student Manager for Junior Secondary and a Student Manager for Senior Secondary. The HPYC becomes a Year Coordinator, taking on a key role in increasing our core values of participation and enthusiasm amongst students. There will be a Year Coordinator for each level, Years 7 to 12. The Leadership team is currently planning who will take on these new roles for 2014.
Ms Clifford presented ICAS English competition results. This is an international competition assessing student knowledge in English skills. She presented many Credit Certificates and Distinction Certificates. The Distinction Certificate recipients are as follows:
Year 8 - Chloe Burke, Abigail Hayden and Lachlan McLeod 
Year 9 - Mardi Duncan, Griffin Forrest, Tom Lister and Fraser Williams
Year 10 - Belynda Cheyne, Alissa Reinke and Jacinta Taylor
Year 11 - Sean Byrnes 
The Year 12 students who also achieved Distinctions were Rachel Dudman, Zoe McKeen and Jordan Symes. Congratulations to all students.
Ms Symmons and Di Nugent, the Area Manager for the Australia Japan Study Program extended thanks to the school and staff for being friendly and welcoming to visiting students during the year.  Japanese Student Buddies were thanked and presented with certificates. Ms Nugent encouraged students to think about hosting or being a buddy next year, citing the benefits of friendships and learning that students would gain. The school is expecting visitors in March and July in 2014 and interested students should see Ms Symmons.
Camilla Vago, our Italian exchange student and Aaron presented a farewell to Hazumi Takeuchi.  Hazumi has been at Harristown for the past 11 months as a scholarship student funded by her government. Camilla spoke about how Hazumi is a great role model and inspiration, always helpful and smiling with a strong belief in herself. She is a brilliant student and close friend to Camilla. The students wished her all the best in her future and presented her with Australian themed gifts,  including Tim Tams. Hazumi thanked students and teachers for her welcome and her experiences as a Hawk.  She presented Mr Green and Ms Symmons with gifts to show her appreciation.
Assembly finished with a bang as the Chaplain Peter Murphy, Andrew Kavuala and the Harristown African Drumming Group performed loudly and beautifully.